

COUNCIL Supplementary Agenda

Date Wednesday 13th December 2023

Time 6.00 pm

Venue Council Chamber, Civic Centre, West Street, Oldham, OL1 1NL

Notes

1. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST- If a Member requires advice on any item involving a possible declaration of interest which could affect his/her ability to speak and/or vote he/she is advised to contact Paul Entwistle or Peter Thompson at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting.

2. CONTACT OFFICER for this agenda is Peter Thompson 0161 70 5151 or peter.thompson@oldham.gov.uk

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COUNCIL

Councillors Adams, Akhtar, Al-Hamdani, Ali, Arnott, Ball, M. Bashforth, S. Bashforth, Birch, Bishop, Brownridge, Byrne, Charters, Chauhan, Cosgrove, Davis, Dean, Fryer, Ghafoor, H. Gloster, Goodwin, Hamblett, Harkness, H. Harrison, J. Harrison, Hince, Hindle, Hobin, Hurley, A Hussain, F Hussain, J. Hussain, S. Hussain, Ibrahim, Iqbal, Irfan, Islam, Jabbar, Kenyon, Lancaster, Malik, Marland, McLaren, Moores, Murphy, Mushtaq, Nasheen, Quigg, Rea, Salamat, Shah, Sharp, Sheldon, Shuttleworth, Surjan, Sykes, Taylor, Wahid, Williamson and Woodvine

Item No

13 Review of political balance on committees (Pages 1 - 10)

Appendices 2 and 3 to item 13



Agenda Item 13

APPENDIX 2

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES – 2023/24

LICENSING CO	LICENSING COMMITTEE*									
Council Members 15	Lab 8	Lib Dem 2	Con 2	FIP 1	IND GROUP 1	OLDHAM GROUP 1				
Chair: S. Hussai	n			Vice Chair	:					
Lab		Lib Dem	Con	FIP	IND GROUP	OLDHAM GROUP				
Cosgrove		Hamblett	Byrne	Hindle	Hince	Wahid				
Shuttleworth		Kenyon	Sheldon							
H Harrison										
J Hussain										
McLaren										
Islam										
Nasheen	Nasheen									
* (NO SUBSTIT	UTES)									

PLANNING	PLANNING COMMITTEE									
Council Members 14	Lab 8	Lib Dem 2	Con 2	FIP 1	IND GROUP 1					
Chair: Surja	an		Vice Chair:							
Lab		Lib Dem	Con	FIP						
Akhtar	Iqbal	Gloster	Lancaster	Hobin	Hince					
Cosgrove	S. Bashforth	Harkness	Woodvine							
Davis										
Fryer										
Ibrahim										

Substitutes	Lab	Con	Lib Dem
(ordered)	H. Harrison		Bishop
	Charters		Williamson
	Moores		
	McLaren		

CHILDREN YOUNG PEOPLE BOARD							
Council Members 8	Lab 4	Lib Dem 1	Con 1	FIP 1	IND GROUP 1		
Chair: Moores Vice Chair:							
Lab	Lib Der	n	Con	FIP	IND	GROUP	

H. Harrison	В	ishop		Adam	ns	Re	a		Hurle	у
McLaren										
Shuttleworth										
	Į.		-							
Substitutes		Lab		Co	n		Lib	Dem		FIP
(ordered)		Cosgro	ove				Glos	ster		
		J. Harr								
ADULT SOCI	AL CA	ARE AN	D HEAI	LTH B	OARD					
Council	La	ab 4 Li	b (Con 1			1D		DHAM	1
Members 8			em				OUP	GR	OUP	
		1				1		1		
Chair: Moores							Cha	ir:	_	
Lab	Lil	b Dem	(Con		IND			OLD	
									GRC	
S. Hussain	Ha	amblett	A	Adams	3	Ball		Wah	id	
J. Harrison										
McLaren										
		1								EID
Substitutes		Lab		Co	n		_	Dem		FIP
(ordered)		H. Har					Mar	land		
		Shuttle	worth							
	DI A	CF FC	MOMO		OWTIL	AND		IDO		IT BOARD
Council			Con 1	ic GR						IT BOARD
Members 8	Lab 4	Lib	Con T		FIP 1		OLDF GROI			
WEITIDEIS 8	4	Dem 1				(JRUI	ا ۲		
Chair: McLare	n	I				\ \	/ico (hair		
Lab	Lib D)em	Con		FIP		Vice Chair: OLDHAM GR) ID
Ibrahim		amson	Shelde	nn .	Hindle				ii GNC	
Iqbal	VVIIII	IIUGIII	Sileid	JII	riiiidie		Ghafoor			
Moores										
MOOLES										
Substitutes		Lab		Со	n		Lih	Dem		
(ordered)				<u>C0</u>	11		Ken			
(Ordered)		Surjan J. Hus					r/GI)	yun		
		J. Hus	saii i							

G	OVERN	ANCE,	STRATI	EGY A	AND RES	SOURCE	S BOARD	
Council Members 8	Lab 4	Lib Dem 1	Con 1		FIP 1		IND GROUP 1	
Chair: McLare	n					Vice Ch	nair:	
Lab	Lib D	em	Con	,	FIP		IND GRO	UP
J. Hussain	Al-Ha	mdani	Woodv	rine	Hobin		Hince	
Moores								
Surjan								
Substitutes		Lab		Con		Lib D	Dem	
(ordered)	_	Ibrahim Iabal				Syke	es	

Co-opted Members (With voting rights on Education matters only): -

- * Canon Jean Hurlston Manchester Church of England Diocese Vacant – Salford Roman Catholic Diocese
- * Mr C Maude Parent/Governor representative Primary Schools
 * Vacant Parent/Governor representative Secondary Schools

AUDIT COM	AUDIT COMMITTEE							
Council	Lab 5	5	Lib Dem 2	Con 1	Oldham			
Members					Group 1			
9								
Chair (Indep	ender	nt N	/lember):					
Lab	Lab		b Dem	Con	Oldham			
					Group			
Akhtar		Al	-Hamdani	Arnott	Ghafoor			
S. Bashforth	S. Bashforth Sykes							
Birch								
Davis	Davis							

Salamat				
Substitutes	Lab	Con	Lib Dem	
(ordered)	I I la mia a n		N A	
` '	J. Harrison		Murphy	
	Islam		Harkness	
	Malik			
	Fryer			

	MPLOYMEN COMMITTEE	T COMMITTE	E/LOCAL NEGOT	TIATING JOINT
Council Members 7	Lab 4	Lib Dem 1	Con 1	Oldham Group 1
Chair: Taylor Employer's Side Vice Chair: Employees' Side				
Lab		Lib Dem	Con	Oldham Group
Davis Jabbar Shuttleworth		Al-Hamdani	Sharp	Ghafoor

COMMONS REGISTRATION COMMITTEE								
Council	Lab 3	Lib Dem 1	Con					
Members 5			1					
Chair:								
Lab		Lib Dem	Con					
M. Bashforth		Bishop	Lancaster					
Charters								
Malik								

	CHARITABLE TRUST COMMITTEE									
Council	Lab 3		Lib Dem 1	Con 1						
Members										
5										
Chair: Birch				Vice Chair:						
Lab		Lib Dem		Con						
Malik		Marland		Byrne						
J. Harrison										

Substitutes	Lab	Con	Lib Dem
(ordered)			Bishop

STANDARDS COM	MITTEE			
Council Members	Lab 3	Lib Dem 1	Con 1	
5				
Chair: H. Harrison		Vice Chair:		
Lab		Lib Dem		Con
S. Bashforth		Williamson		Byrne
J. Hussain				

Independent Persons	Parish Councillors
Karen Williams	Swift
Bushra Tabassum	Blackmore
Vacant	
Vacant	
* NO SUBSTITUTES	

PETITIONER/TR	O PANEL			
Council	Lab 3	Lib Dem 1	Con 1	
Members				
5				
Chair: Shuttlewor	th		Vice Chair:	
Lab		Lib Dem	Con	
Fryer		Murphy	Woodvine	
Salamat				
Plus relevant Cabinet Member present for Petitioners Meetings			oners Meetings	

Substitutes (ordered)	Lab	Con	Lib Dem
	S. Bashforth		Kenyon
	Davis		

	APPEALS COI	MMITTEE (To inc	clude Equipme	nt and
	Adaptations, E	Employment and	l Transport Ap	peals)
Council	Lab 1	Lib Dem 1	Con 1	Quorum 3
Members 3				
	To be appointed as required			

	APPOINTMEN	TS COMMITTEE		
Council	Lab 3	Lib Dem 1	Con 1	Quorum 3
Members 5				

Shah Taylor Mushtaq (or nominated substitute)	Sykes (or nominated substitute)	Sheldon (or nominated substitute)	
---	---------------------------------------	---	--

The Leader nominates Council representation to the following:

HEALTH AND WEL	LBEING BOARD (O	utside Political Bala	nce)
Council Members	Lab 5	Opp 1	Quorum 3
6			
Chair: J. Harrison		Vice Chair:	
Lab		Lib Dem	
Brownridge		Sykes	
Mushtaq			
Nasheen			
Shuttleworth			
Clinical Commission	ing Group		
Director of Adult Social Care			
Director of Children's Services			
Director of Public Health			
Healthwatch			
NHS Commissioning	g Board		

Cabinet Members should not be part of the above scrutiny committees . Allocation not in accordance with political balance requires no vote against. OSP = Opposition Spokesperson

District Leads (Outside Political Balance)

CENTRAL DISTRICT LEAD	
Councillor Ali Aqeel Salamat	

NORTH DISTRICT LEAD	
Councillor Steven Bashforth	
Deputy - Councillor Williamson	

EAST DISTRICT LEAD	
Councillor Angela Cosgrove	

Deputy	Deputy – Councillor Al-Hamdani	
--------	--------------------------------	--

SOUTH DISTRICT LEAD

Councillor Peter Davis

WEST DISTRICT LEAD

Chair: Councillor Shuttleworth



Appendix 3

Arising from the changes to the groups, it is proposed after discussion with the relevant group leaders that Councillor Sykes will be the opposition member on the LGA General Assembly.

Councillor Ghafoor will no longer be a representative on ODEA and Oldham Property Partnership and Councillor Wahid will not be on the Corporate Parenting Board.

